August 15, 2018

Patriot Springs Plans Inaugural Gala

Patriot Springs

Patriot Springs, a nonprofit organization dedicated to helping veterans, is planning its Inaugural Gala on Aug. 24, 2018, at the Southern Maryland Higher Education Center in California. 

Rotary Honors Restaurant Owner


Kevin Thompson, the owner of Kevin’s Corner Kafe in Leonardtown, has been recognized for his meritorious Service Above Self by the Leonardtown Rotary Club.

St. Mary’s Gets New Tourism Director

Tourism Director St. Mary's County

Jason Aul has been selected to lead Visit St. Mary’s MD, a newly established tourism organization in St. Mary’s County.

Bar Association Awards Scholarship

Bar Association Awards Scholarship

The St. Mary’s County Bar Association has named Carmen Doig of Lexington Park as the winner of the association’s 2018 college scholarship in the amount of $1,500.

Tickets on Sale for Romeo & Juliet

Romeo & Juliet Newtowne Players Present 'Romeo & Juliet'

The Newtowne Players will present the iconic Romeo & Juliet in partnership with Historic St. Mary’s City. Tickets are now on sale for the production, to be held on the State House lawn, Aug. 10, 11, 16, 17, and 18.

Repairs at Pax Change Flight Patterns

Night Flights

NAS Patuxent River flight patterns have changed due to runway repairs. Local communities may notice increased noise levels.

Summerstock Presents Mary Poppins

Mary Poppins Summerstock

Summerstock 2018 will present Mary Poppins. Show dates are July 20-22 and 27-29. Performances will be held in the Great Mills High School auditorium.

County Public Forum Set Tuesday

County Public Forum Set July 17

The St. Mary’s County commissioners will host their next public forum at 6:30 pm on Tuesday, July 17.

The Arc Honors Volunteer of Year

The Arc Honors Volunteer of Year

David “Scott” Mellinger was honored as The Arc Southern Maryland’s Volunteer of the Year.

Residents Named to Boards, Commissions

County Public Forum Set July 17

In June, the St. Mary’s County commissioners voted to name several individuals to boards, commissions, and committees. The terms are effective July 1, 2018.