March 2, 2024

SMECO to Elect Five Board Members

Posted by SMECOsmeco

On August 14, SMECO members will elect five members to the SMECO Board of Directors at the 2013 Annual Members’ Meeting. Members of the board will serve three year terms, and fill one Board seat in Calvert County, two seats in Charles County, one in Prince George’s, and one seat in St. Mary’s County.

The 2013 Nominating Committee for Southern Maryland Electric Cooperative (SMECO) met  in May to chose candidates for the five available seats.

The list of nominations follows:

Calvert County
W. Michael Phipps
Charles County
Gilbert O. Bowling
Richard A. Winkler
Prince George’s County
James A. Richards
St. Mary’s County
P. Scott White

In addition to nominations made by the Nominating Committee, any 15 or more SMECO members acting together may make other nominations by petition. SMECO customer-members running by petition should also complete and submit a Board of Directors Candidate Application.

To obtain a candidate application and petition, contact Lisa Oliver at 301-274-4489 or [email protected]. Completed candidate applications and petitions must be submitted or mailed to SMECO, Attn: Joseph Densford, Board Attorney, 15045 Burnt Store Road, P.O. Box 1937, Hughesville, Maryland 20637 by Friday, June 14, at 4:00 p.m.

Nominations will be posted in each SMECO office and online.

Absentee mail-in ballots are also available to members who wish to vote but cannot attend the meeting. To request an absentee mail-in ballot, call 1-888-440-3311, extension 4722, or visit the Co-op’s website at Requests must be made by 4 p.m., Monday, August 5, 2013.

SMECO will mail member identification cards with information about the meeting to customer-members in mid-July.


Leave A Comment