April 2, 2023

SMECO Board Nominating Committee to Meet

Southern Maryland Electric Cooperative’s (SMECO’s) Board of Directors has appointed nine members to the 2012 Nominating Committee scheduled to meet on Saturday, May 19, at the Co-op’s Executive Building in Hughesville. This committee will select a slate of candidates for the five available Board seats up for election at SMECO’s 2012 Annual Members’ Meeting. The following Board seats will be up for election: one in Calvert County, two in Charles County, and two in St. Mary’s County.

The 2012 Nominating Committee members follow:

  • Calvert County: Terence N. Gibson, Prince Frederick; and Alyce Schwallenberg, Huntingtown.
  • Charles County: Joseph L. Gardiner, Jr., La Plata; and William B. Young, Jr., Waldorf.
  • Prince George‘s County: Manning Clagett, Accokeek; and Ernest H. Riess, Brandywine.
  • St. Mary’s County: Edith M. Bell, Chaptico; George A. Brown, Loveville; and Catherine Brenda Coates, Lexington Park.

SMECO customer-members interested in being nominated should complete a Board of Directors Candidate Application.  To obtain a candidate application, contact Lisa Oliver at 301-274-4489 or [email protected]. Completed candidate applications should be submitted or mailed to SMECO, Attention: Joseph Densford, Board Attorney, 15045 Burnt Store Road, P.O. Box 1937, Hughesville, Maryland 20637 by Friday, May 11, 2012.

In addition to nominations made by the committee, any 15 or more SMECO members acting together may make other nominations by petition by Friday, June 22. Members running by petition should also complete and submit a Board of Directors Candidate Application.  Nominations will be posted in each SMECO office and mailed to each member with the Annual Meeting notice.

SMECO’s Annual Meeting will be held Thursday, August 23, 2012. SMECO had more than 1,200 members registered to vote last year. Absentee mail-in voting will be available to customer-members who are unable to attend the meeting. To request an absentee mail-in ballot, go to SMECO’s website at www.smeco.coop. More information will be published in the Co-op’s monthly newsletter.

Selection of the Nominating Committee members is in compliance with SMECO’s bylaws. For more information regarding the committee, nominations, and qualifications of directors, refer to Article IV, Sections 4.02 and 4.03, of SMECO’s bylaws. Bylaws may be obtained from any SMECO office.

Source: SMECO

Leave A Comment