June 20, 2019

SMECO Board Candidates Nominated

Nominating Committee

Candidates for the five seats up for election on the Southern Maryland Electric Cooperative‘s Board of Directors were chosen at SMECO’s 2016 Nominating Committee meeting May 7.

The list of nominations are:

Calvert County (one seat available) — Michael Phipps

Charles County (two seats available) — Gilbert O. Bowling, Vernecia C. Smith, and Richard A. Winkler

Prince George’s County (one seat available) — James A. Richards

St. Mary’s County (one seat available) — Scott White

In addition to nominations made by the Nominating Committee, any 15 or more SMECO members acting together may make other nominations by petition. SMECO customer-members running by petition also should complete and submit a Board of Directors Candidate Application.

To obtain a candidate application and petition, contact Terrie Krupitzer at 240-528-9747 or Terrie.Krupitzer@smeco.coop.

SMECO must receive completed candidate applications and petitions by Friday, June 24, 2016. Applications and petitions may be mailed to SMECO, Attention: Joseph Densford, Board Attorney, P.O. Box 1937, Hughesville, MD 20637, or delivered to Terrie Krupitzer at 15035 Burnt Store Road in Hughesville. Nominations will be posted in each SMECO office and available online.

SMECO customer-members will elect five directors to serve three-year terms by voting for one board seat in Calvert County, two seats in Charles County, one seat in Prince George’s County, and one seat in St. Mary’s County.

Members may vote in person at SMECO’s 2016 annual members’ meeting on Tuesday, Aug. 23, 2016, at the Southern Maryland Blue Crabs Regency Furniture Stadium on St. Linus Drive in Waldorf. The venue provides ample parking, comfortable seating, and accessibility.

Absentee mail-in ballots also will be available to members who wish to vote but cannot attend the meeting. To request an absentee mail-in ballot, call 1-888-440-3311, ext. 4722, between July 18 and Aug. 5, or complete an online form on the co-op’s website at www.smeco.coop. Customer-members also may mail a request for an absentee mail-in ballot to SMECO Annual Meeting, P.O. Box 670, Hughesville, MD 20637. The following information must be included in the request: account number, phone number, service address, and mailing address.

SMECO will mail member identification cards with information about the meeting to customer-members in late July.

To learn more about SMECO, visit its Leader member page. 

Leave A Comment